Peace in the Middle East: Problems and Possibilities

April 18, 2017

With Oliver McTernan, Moderated by Prof. Daniel L. Shapiro. 

Oliver McTernan has been instrumental in facilitating behind-the-scenes dialogue in some of the world’s most intractable conflicts.  Discover what he has learned through these processes – including major obstacles and possibilities for creating a more peaceful Middle East. 

Read more

Leading in Divided Times: A Panel Discussion at the World Economic Forum

January 9, 2017

Leading in Divided Times

CLICK HERE TO WATCH THE PANEL.  We are living in an era of social fragmentation, economic disruption, and generational and political divides. In this panel discussion at Davos, global leaders examine how to bridge the growing divides in our world.  Panelists include:

  • Daniel Shapiro (Moderator), Founder and...
Read more about Leading in Divided Times: A Panel Discussion at the World Economic Forum

Multiculturalism: What Next?

January 28, 2012

That society has become more fragmented is arguably an inevitable consequence of putting people with vast differences in wealth, education opportunities, religious beliefs and values together into a melting pot without adequate integration policies or government support.

1. Why has multiculturalism in a globalized world foundered?
2. What can be done to create a more harmonious society?
3. How can a world free of xenophobia be created?

Special Address by:
H.R.H. Crown Prince Haakon of Norway, Crown Prince of Norway...

Read more about Multiculturalism: What Next?

Shapiro Wins Otto Klineberg Award

January 2, 2012

Daniel Shapiro is recipient of the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues (SPSSI) prestigious Otto Klineberg Intercultural and International Relations Award for his article, Relational Identity Theory: A Systematic Approach for Transforming the Emotional Dimension of Conflict. According to SPSSI, the award is given annually to the best paper or article of the year on intercultural or international relations. Among past recipients are Daniel Druckman, Ronald Fisher, Daniel...

Read more about Shapiro Wins Otto Klineberg Award